Under Age Driving While Intoxicated In New Jersey N.J.S.A. 39: 4-50.14
If you are under 21 years of age and you operate a vehicle while you are intoxicated, you can be charged with an underage DWI or DUI. If a driver's BAC is above 0.01% and below 0.08%, then that driver could face a forfeiture of license for 90 days, could be forced to participate in community service for 30 days, and must satisfy the program and fee requirements of IDRC.
Under New Jersey law there is a zero tolerance policy for underage drinking and driving. If you are younger than 21 years old you will be charged with drunk driving with a BAC as low as 0.01%. A driver under the legal drinking age of 21 who is guilty of DWI will face harsh penalties. Penalties include hefty fines, surcharges on their auto insurance, the loss of their driving license, mandatory IDRC classes, the possibility of an ignition interlock system installed in their vehicle, up to 30 days in jail, and possible community service.
Call Villani & DeLuca today at 732-800-7740 for a free initial consultation