Contact Us for a Free Consultation 732-372-0738

Breath Test Refusal

Breath Test Refusal After A Drunk Driving Stop In Wall, New Jersey

Refusal charges are also common in Wall Township. Refusal charges can be written when the alleged intoxicated motorist refuses to submit to a breath test or a blood test to determine their Blood Alcohol Content (BAC). There is a process that all Wall Township Police Officers must follow and is contained on the Division of Motor Vehicles Standard Statement. The officer must read you your rights and the law contained thereon, and ask if you will submit to a blood alcohol test. If you refuse and do not agree to take the test you will be charged with a refusal. If convicted of a refusal, you may face similar penalties to those of an actual DWI. In all DWI related convictions for DWI or refusal you will be ordered to install an Ignition Interlock Device on your motor vehicle. Costs with Ignition Interlock Devices can run high as they require fees for installation, rental, monthly reporting, and removal.  These devices will not allow you to start your automobile unless the device determines that there is no alcohol in your system. 

First Refusal in New Jersey

  •  Loss of license from the time of conviction until an interlock device is installed and a new restricted interlock   license is in hand. 
  •  Fine of up to $500.00
  •  Required installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for a minimum of 9 months and a maximum of 15 months
  •  Participation in the IDRC (intoxicated driver resource center) for a period of 12-48 hours
  •  Other fines and penalties

Second Refusal in New Jersey

  •  Loss of license for a minimum of 1 up to a maximum of 2 years
  •  Fine of up to $1,000.00
  •  Required installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for a minimum of 2 years and a maximum of 4 years and this   is in addition to the time of suspension, during which the interlock must also be installed
  •  Other fines and penalties

Third Refusal in New Jersey

  •  Loss of license for up to 8 years
  •  Fine of $1,000.00
  •  Required installation of an Ignition Interlock Device for a minimum of 2 years and a maximum of 4 years and this   is in addition to the time of suspension, during which the interlock must also be installed
  •  Other fines and penalties

Call Villani & DeLuca today at 732-372-0738 or complete our online form for a free initial consultation about your Wall Township, NJ refusal charge.

Wall Criminal Defense Lawyer

If you or a family member are facing criminal or DWI charges in Wall or surrounding areas call the experienced wall criminal defense lawyers at Villani & DeLuca. Our lawyers have been defending clients across Ocean and Monmouth Counties since 1996. Call 732-372-0738 today for a free consultation.

The information contained in this website is provided for informational purposes only, and should not be construed as legal advice on any matter. The transmission and receipt of information contained on this website, in whole or in part, or communication with the Villani & DeLuca, P.C. via the Internet or e-mail through this website does not constitute or create a lawyer-client relationship between this firm and any recipient. You should not send any confidential information in response to this webpage. Such responses will not create a lawyer-client relationship, and whatever you disclose will not be privileged or confidential unless this firm has agreed to act as your legal counsel and you have executed a written engagement agreement with Villani & DeLuca, P.C. Copyright © 2022 Villani DeLuca P.C. | All rights reserved |

Menu